Get Adobe Reader

Joan Thirsk Memorial Prize Fund

The British Agricultural History Society is pleased to announce a prize to be awarded annually for the Best Book in British or Irish Rural or Agrarian History in memory of Joan Thirsk. The prize will be awarded for the first time in Spring 2017, for a book published during 2016.
Enter for this year’s prizePDF.

Make a donation towards the prize

Clicking the Donate button will take you to PayPal, where you will specify the amount you wish to donate. If you are a UK taxpayer, we would also appreciate it if you gift-aid it. (You can do them in either order.)
gift aid it

Joan Thirsk
If you prefer to make your donation by cheque, please fill in the formPDF file icon and post it to the address given on it.

Joan Thirsk (1922–2013)

Joan Thirsk was the leading agricultural and rural historian of her generation. Her books and articles have a lasting influence. The fertility of Joan’s mind was such that she wrote a succession of pioneering articles, offering ideas and even creating areas of research which others took up and developed. She was an early writer on the family, on open fields, on the industrialization of the countryside. Her Economic Policy and Projects invented a history of the manufacture and consumption of ordinary things (‘starch, needles, pins, cooking pots, kettles, frying pans, lace, soap, vinegar, stockings do not appear on the shopping lists [of men] but they do appear on mine’). She was a historian of knitting, horticulture, tobacco and, of course, woad and our leading authority on early modern food. Her editorial labours, notably on the Agrarian History of England and Wales, were prodigious. And, one should not ignore – Joan would not forgive us if we did – her interest in (and and deep empathy with) her female predecessors in the history profession. Her kindness and generosity of time, advice and references to many historians was considerable.

Joan was much more than an agricultural and rural historian and yet the British Agricultural History Society, of which she was a founder and loyal servant, always remained dear to her. In return the Society acknowledged her excellence by making her its president for two terms. Many of its members gave her a festschrift when she retired and another when she passed eighty. The Society now wishes to perpetuate her memory with an annual prize for the best book published in the broad fields of British and Irish rural and agrarian history. To that end we solicit contributions to a prize fund to be administered by the Society.

How the prize will work

One prize will be made annually using the interest from the fund, topped up by the Society. Works entered can be concerned with any aspect of British and Irish rural or agrarian history provided that they use broadly historical methodology (so works of pure archaeology will not be eligible). Works by single or joint authors will be eligible but edited collections of papers will not. It is envisaged that the annual competition will be advertised each autumn, with the announcement of the prize winner made at the Society’s Spring Conference the following year.