The Society was founded in 1952, to promote the study of agricultural history and the history of the rural economy and society and to:

Officers and Executive Committee

PresidentProf. Nicola Verdon Sheffield Hallam University 
SecretaryDr Alex ‘Spike’ Gibbs University of Mannheim 
TreasurerMr Derek Shepherd University of Plymouth 
Agricultural History Review Editor (Articles)Prof. Paul Warde University of Cambridge 
Agricultural History Review Editor
(Book Reviews)
Dr John Morgan University of Bristol 
Director of the Library of Rural and Agricultural Literature (LIBRAL)Prof. Richard Hoyle University of Reading 
Chair of the Executive CommitteeProf. Karen Sayer Leeds Trinity University 
Deputy Chair of the Executive CommitteeDr Sarah Holland University of Nottingham 
Executive CommitteeDr Jordan Claridge London School of Economics 
 Dr Rebecca Ford London 
 Prof. John Martin University of Reading
 Dr Samantha Shave University of Lincoln 
 Dr Danae Tankard University of Chichester
 Prof. Annie Tindley University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne
 Prof. Abigail Woods University of Lincoln